Dutch Glow Review – My Opinion of the Amish Furniture Polish

You’ve seen the commercials, now read my consumer review of the Dutch Glow Amish furniture polish. It has everything – difficult mother-in-laws, stubborn children, and a happy husband

Dutch Glow practically saved my life. Or, at least it saved me from my mother-in-law.

I’m about to share with you how I discovered this furniture polish, and what my opinions are on it.

Ultimately, I’ve found it’s worth the investment. I looked for their buy one get one free limited time deal, and found it here:

Dutch Glow: Click Here for their Buy 1 Get 1 Free Offer

Make sure you take advantage of that soon. In my opinion, it’s a deal that can’t be missed.

Now, on to my glorious review.

My Review of Dutch Glow

dutch-glow-furniture-polishAfter my husband’s father died a few years ago, my mother-in-law decided to downsize to a smaller place. Before she moved, she gave us most of her beautiful solid oak antique furniture.

Some of it had originally been her mother’s so it was truly special to have it passed down to us. She always keeps her home immaculate so the furniture was very well taken care of. In fact, it looked brand new.

Dutch Glow: Click Here for their Buy 1 Get 1 Free Offer

The day after my mother-in-law gave us the oak furniture, she presented us with five pages of hand-written instructions on how to take care of the furniture. This included mixing lemons (cut up in a special way) and vinegar for a certain length of time, and then adding some other stuff.

It sounded like a long drawn out process that would also be messy and might make my fingers stink, on top of discoloring my fingernails. Oh no.

Throughout her long dissertation on the subject, she was very adamant about never using Pledge, or Old English, or any other furniture polish that left in her words, “that nasty waxy build-up that just attracts dust and then turns your wood all dark and grimy!”

She actually harped on this for more than two hours when my husband finally intervened and coaxed her into to going out to look at the flower garden. I promptly went in the bathroom, locked the door, and screamed.

While I truly did appreciate her generosity in giving us the furniture, I’m a career woman, not a full-time homemaker. Truthfully, I just don’t have the time or the energy to spend on making my own homemade furniture cleaner.

dutch-glow-reviewSo, I bought some Pledge and hid it in the bedroom closet. I figured she only came for a visit every few months so what could it hurt. Famous last words.

Well, my darling son who always “forgets” to use a coaster, had some friends over one afternoon and they were all drinking cold colas from the fridge. They used the antique oak coffee table as their buffet table, and left their glasses sitting on the table for several hours which of course left several terrible water rings.

If that wasn’t bad enough, they also left scratches all over the table (with what I don’t really know), and didn’t bother to clean up the soda they spilled. The coke was soaked in and dried sticky before I got home and discovered their mess.

I tried to clean it all up and even made a special run to the store to find something that would remove the rings and the sticky liquid discoloration. I bought three different products but nothing really worked.

Dutch Glow: Click Here for their Buy 1 Get 1 Free Offer

The rings did get somewhat lighter but they were still quite noticeable. If there had just been one, I might have been able to cover it with magazines or something else, but there were six rings all around the table.

A few days later, my husband came home and announced that his mother was coming for a visit in ten days.

Now, if you’ve ever watched, “Everyone Loves Raymond,” and are familiar with the Marie character (Raymond’s Mom), you’ll have a good understanding of what I’m up against with my mother-in-law. She has a special way of finding fault in everything, but smiling and talking sweetly while she criticizes. And, this was going to absolutely break her heart.

I was in a panic. I knew I would never hear the end of it. A co-worker heard about my predicament and heard about this furniture polish here. So, she brought in some Dutch Glow she had at home.

She pulled me aside and explained how easy it was to use. She even brought me a brand new micro-cloth to use. She said that it worked like a charm to remove the water rings, and that it would even remove all evidence that I had ever used one of those “nasty” furniture polishes.

When I got home that evening, the first thing I did before anything else was try out the Dutch Glow on the damaged oak coffee table. As I spread it over the first water ring, I almost jumped for joy as I saw it completely disappear.

I quickly moved on to the second one and the same thing happened. The weird scratches were disappearing too, and when I did a comparison between the part that I had cleaned with Dutch Glow to the part I had used Pledge on, there was an obvious difference.

Final Results & Reviews

When my husband got home, he could hardly believe how well Dutch Glow had worked. The table looked just like when my mother-in-law gave it to us.

Dutch Glow: Click Here for their Buy 1 Get 1 Free Offer

During her visit, she actually complimented me and said, “Looks like you’re using the cleaner like I taught you.”

I replied, “Yes. Just like you taught me. Thank you!”

Leave a Reply

